top of page


Rural Skills SVQ’s


Rural Skills Scotland are pleased to have developed a number of new qualifications to fill an identified training gap in the land-based sector.


Working with employers, land-owners and industry experts we have developed:


SVQ Level 2 Estate Maintenance (SCQF Level 5)  


SVQ Level 3 Estate Management (SCQF Level 6) 



SVQ Level 2 Environmental Conservation

 (SCQF Level 5)  

SVQ Level 2 General Woodland and Forestry Treework

(SCQF Level 5)

For the SVQ Level 2, participants will undertake 4 mandatory units and 6 optional units.


For the SVQ Level three there is a requirement to complete 6 mandatory units, 2 mandatory optional units and 2 optional units.


Both of these qualifications are entirely work based. The selection of the specific units to be studied will be dependent upon the needs of both the trainee and the employer. We will look to tailor the units towards the strengths of the employer, however if specific training is required in an area for which the employer is not familiar then this can be arranged.



MA Rural Skills


In order to help address the skills needs and gaps in the land-based sector, a Modern Apprenticeship in “Rural Skills” has been developed by Lantra (Sector Skills Council) with significant input from organisations such as Rural Skills Scotland.


This important development provides a new opportunity for those wishing to embark on a career in the sector.


Through their contract with Skills Development Scotland and SQA, Rural Skills Scotland can register apprentices and deliver the appropriate SVQ within the workplace.


bottom of page